Wednesday, 6 July 2016

The New Zealand Forest

When we came back from Shantytown, we did some more work on the layers in the New Zealand forest We drew diagrams and wrote reports. This is what Coby wrote:

How the New Zealand Forest is Structured
There are five different layers in the New Zealand  forest: emergent, canopy, sub-canopy, shrub and the forest floor. Each of the layers is unique in its own way.

The emergent is the top layer in the forest and it is the layer that looks over all of the rest of the trees. There are some different names for the trees like matai, rimu and kahikatea.   In the emergent layer there are  bird nests and there is sometimes berries in that layer. If some of the emergent trees fall over they become part of the forest floor.

The forest floor is the lowest of all of the layers.  In the forest floor is where all of the berries, emergent trees, canopy trees and the sub-canopy leaves come to after they fall down.  On the forest floor is all of the soil that helps the trees and the bush stay alive .  On the forest floor you can find insects,sticks, moss and leaves that had fallen off the trees.

The canopy has the second tallest trees because they are the ones under the emergent trees.  In the canopy layer there is some different kinds of trees like  tawa, beech and cabbage trees and lots of others.  The canopy has  lots of different things in the trees like birds, spiders and lots of other things.

In conclusion, in the forest there are five different layers in the New Zealand forest.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank-you for your positive, thoughtful, helpful comment.